Senior Leadership Team

John Pout Executive Principal
Josie Thorogood Senior Deputy Headteacher Raising Standards
Tony Cunningham Deputy HeadteacherDirector of Studies
Linsay Munro Deputy Headteacher Personal Development, Behaviour & Welfare 
Jerry Lamb Assistant Headteacher Behaviour / Attendance
Wendy Segal Assistant Headteacher - Raising Standards 
Richard Edge Assistant Headteacher - Director of Sixth Form
Rob Owens Director of Finance & Operations

Senior Staff

Louise Aylward Associate Assistant Head
Erin Bakstad Associate Assistant Head
Andrew Crossley Head of English
Peter Roberts Head of Mathematics

Curriculum Teams


Peter Roberts Head of Faculty
James Rimmer Head of KS3, G&T (Gifted) Coordinator
Jenny Rawsthorne Head of KS5 
Sharon Walker Lead Practitioner for Maths, ITT/NQT Professional Mentor
Michelle Alexander Lead Teacher – developing teaching and learning
Peter Capewell Excellent Teacher
Richard Edge Director of Sixth Form 
Sam Brenan
Rebecca Carson
Sze Cheung
Joshua Gates
Christine Smith
Paul Hunt
Susan Fletcher LFC Link Teacher
David Patterson
Joanne Hill EN&MA Clerical Assistant


Andrew Crossley Head of Faculty
Wendy Segal Assistant Headteacher, Raising Standards
Maria Ball Head of KS3  
Claire Dickman Head of KS5 
John Buxton Excellent Teacher, Senior Lead Practitioner
Lauren Jones Excellent Teacher, Lead Practitioner
Nicola Ericson LFC Lead Link Teacher
Lauren Shields
Stephanie Lunt
Claire Flaherty
Ciaran McAloran
Laura Melia
Jennifer Smethurst
Craig Reddin
Joanne Hill EN&MA Clerical Assistant


Wendy Segal  Acting Head of Faculty
Gareth Pugh Head of Biology 
Mike Beswick Head of Chemistry, Data and Timetabling
Nicola Hesketh Head of KS3 Science
Debbie Barker 
Jennifer Davanzo
Devon Hamon
Neil Fairhurst
Lyndsey Gordon  
Paul Hurst Acting Head of Physics
Christopher Pownell 
Wendy Trelfa
Beth Williams LFC Link Teacher
Jonathan White Senior Science Technician
Lynette Scattergood Science Technician 
Ayesha Khan Supply Teacher


Joanne Parkinson Head of Faculty, Head of Geography
Caroline A’Bear Head of History & Politics
Racheal Evans Head of RE & Sociology
Jacquie Ayre Head of Life Skills
Gill Booth RE, Key Stage 3 Progress Leader
Orla Coyne Geography
Lesley Anne Fleming History
Susan Jones Geography
Jane Marshall History
Daniel Proctor History
Joanne West History,  Year Progress Leader
Helen Wood Geography


Sarah Jenner Head of Faculty, Head of Computer Science
Nicola Looker Computing
Marc Khanna ICT Network Manager 
Howard Jones Senior ICT Technician
Jack Muscroft ICT Technician

Modern Languages

Rob Herd Head of Faculty, Head of French
Erica D’Anna Head of Spanish
Carmel Grace Head of German 
Natalie Murphy French
Carmen Gomez Spanish with French
Simon Locke French

Social Sciences

Paul Jarvis Head of Social Sciences
Tony Cunningham Law and Business
Prunella Goss Law and Business
Faye Mitchell Psychology
Tom Reilly Business, Year Progress Leader
Leila Haddad Health & Social Care supply teacher – 2 terms

Art and Design Technology

Anthony Bennett Head of Faculty and Visual Art.
Sharon Bolland Head of Food
Laura Goodwin Second in Art Department
Kelly Cook DT Textiles, 
Stephanie Corless Art Textiles, Year Progress Leader
Megan Brooks DT Food
Laura Simms Art
Josie Thorogood DT Food
Rachel Thomas Art Graphics
Stuart Grose CDT 
Dave Southward CDT Technician

Performing Arts

Louise Aylward Head of Performing Arts
Sophie Renison Head of Drama 
Sarah Critchley Head of Media
Roy Baden Smith Media
Ged Fleming Head of Music
Claire Haselden Dance
Michelle Speers Drama

Physical Education

Erin Bakstad Head of Faculty 
Yacine Rachi Head of KS3 and Vocational, Second in Faculty, G&T (Elite Performer) Coordinator, Community Use Manager
Nicky Fryer Key Stage 4 Progress Leader
Emily Garner
Jerry Lamb
Linsay Munro
Michael Wood
Natalie Gordon Exams & Data Assistant 
Andrew Brown Cover Supervisor PE

Life Skills

Jacquie Ayre Head of Faculty

LFC Rainhill Staff

Nicola Ericson English
Sue Fletcher Maths
Beth Williams Science
Nicky Fryer PE

Lead Practitioners

John Buxton Senior Lead Practitioner
Michelle Alexander
Emily Garner
Lauren Jones
Sharon Walker

Additional Needs

Liz Bradshaw SEN & Lead Safeguarding Manager
Steven Tilley KS3 RAC Manager
Tracey McCabe Learning Support Assistant, Reading Recovery and English intervention
Julie Jones-Murray Learning Assistant + SEN
Amanda Mawson Learning Assistant + SEN
Paul Robson Learning Assistant + SEN
Victoria Tyrer Learning Assistant + SEN (Maternity leave)
Eileen Williams Learning Assistant + SEN
Jenna Pilkington Learning Assistant + SEN
Sue Whatham Learning Assistant + SEN
Natalie Barton Learning Assistant + SEN
Michael Irwin Learning Assistant + SEN
Slavena Nikolova Learning Assistant + SEN

Cover Supervisor

Natalie Gordon  (Exams & Data Assistant Maternity cover)
Andrew Brown Cover Supervisor PE (Natalie Gordon cover)

Pastoral Team Leaders

Key Stage Progress Leaders

Nicky Fryer Key Stage 4 
Gill Booth Key Stage 3 

Year Progress Leaders

Nicky Fryer Year 11
Stephanie Corless Year 10
Jo West Year 9
Tom Reilly Year 8
Gill Booth Year 7
Angela Healey Pastoral Support Manager

Year Student Manager

Lily Martin Year 11 Student Manager
Fiona Seddon Year 10 Student Manager
Helen Foster Year 9 Student Manager 
Vicki Quirk Year 8 Student Manager
Paul Lankertis Year 7 Student Manager

Assistant Heads of Year

Michelle Speers Year 11
Beth Williams Year 8

Sixth Form

Richard Edge Director of Sixth Form
Alison Anders Sixth Form Year Student Manager
Joanne Morrell Sixth Form Learning Mentor
Nikki Hughes Admin Assistant - Sixth Form
Orla Coyne Head of PSHE
Daniel Procter Head of EPQ

Heads of House

Mike Wood Perseverance
Pru Goss Rocket
David Patterson Sans Pareil
Nicola Looker Stephenson

Support Staff

Senior Support Staff Team

Rob Owens Director of Finance & Operations 
Karen Kearns Finance Manager
Ben Simpson Marketing Manager
Alison Mawdsley HR Manager, Clerk to Governors/Trustees
Loraine Potter Office Manager, PA to SLT
Marc Khanna ICT Network Manager
Pam King Data and Assessment Analyst
Andy Lownsbrough Site Manager

Finance, Site and Community

Karen Kearns Finance Manager
Janice McDermott Finance Assistant
Michael Tallant Community Development Officer
Andy Lownsbrough Site Manager
Thomas Crehan Caretaker
Chris Griffiths Weekend Caretaker
Paul Warrener Caretaker


Alison Mawdsley HR Manager, Clerk to Governors/Trustees


Ben Simpson Marketing Manager

Network Support

Marc Khanna ICT Network Manager 
Howard Jones Senior ICT Technician
Joel Egan ICT & Audio Visual Technician
Jack Muscroft ICT Technician


Loraine Potter Office Manager/PA to SLT
Pam King Data and Assessment Analyst
Louise Morris Examinations and Data Assistant (Maternity leave)
Natalie Gordon Maternity Leave cover
Joanne Fossard Admin Assistant - Receptionist
Deborah McGowan Admin Assistant - Attendance Officer 
Jeanette Rigby Admin Assistant
Nikki Hughes Sixth Form Admin Assistant
Emily Fox Admin Assistant 
Rob Leyland Admin Assistant
Joanne Hill EN&MA Admin Assistant

Midday Supervisors

Linda Hilditch
Joyce McElroy
Barbara Whittaker
Anne-Marie Knowles
Louise Rowley


Kyle Donohue Reprographics Admin Apprentice